New Year, New Questions

One of my favorite bloggers, Sandi Wiseheart, of “What’s on Sandi’s needles,” does a great job blogging. She goes at it every Thursday, like clockwork. Her writing is superb, and her humor is often “laugh out loud” funny. I wish I did as well as she. Another thing she does with finesse is to engage her readers. She asks questions; they answer.

I’d like to do more of that here. Help me out, won’t you?

I’m laboring through the end of the New Testament, and feeling a little overwhelmed. It seems that most of Timothy and Peter are pages of lists: “Be an example. . . in the way you live, love, faith, focus on the scriptures, encouraging others. Run from evil, follow what is right, Hold on to the pattern of right teaching, live in the faith, carefully guard. . . ”

Do you ever feel that way? Like you’re being disciplined by a crotchety old nun? “Stand tall,” “Be Quiet.” “Sit up Straight.” “Don’t slouch.” Maybe I’m suffering from the midwinter blues!

I want to listen to the scriptures and obey, but for crying out loud (as my mother used to say) how can anyone follow so many instructions all at once?

Then, I’m reminded of the best tennis teacher I ever had. Geoffery (a man with his own set of problems) used to pick JUST ONE THING and have me work at that ONE THING through an entire morning of drills. Perhaps it was staying low as I swung. Perhaps it was accelerating my backswing, or being physically ready when I stopped moving.  But it was only ONE thing every week. That I could manage.

What about you? How do you take on the advice you see in the New Testament?

So. Changing subjects. What are you up to this year? What is this year’s project?

I’m studying to become someone else! That’s what I must do to take on another fiction character. Sometimes, that takes a ton of work (for some kind of unusual professional life). Other times, the new character is familiar, not so difficult to take on.

I’m working to become a female firefighter. Anyone have any ideas? Anyone I should talk to? A book I should read?

And don’t worry. When I become someone else, I never alter my driver’s license, or change my appearance. My husband continues to recognize me and come home for dinner.

And this one last thing, from a letter I got from a reader for Jeremiah; A Bright Light in a Dark Season.

“I am very picky about Bible Studies and have followed teachers like Kay Arthur and Beth Moore, but your study along with the Holy Spirit is blowing my socks off. This is such a good study, and I thank you soooooooo much.”

Aaahhhhh. . .  Sometimes, a little “atta girl” goes a long way, doesn’t it?

Tell me about your plans?

Bette

Leave a Reply

