Half Way

I’ve been thinking about half-way lately.

Here’s the passage that stuck in my mind:

“Terah took his son Abram, his daughter-in-law Sarai and his grandson Lot (his son Haran’s child) and left Ur of the Chaldeans to go to the land of Canaan. But they stopped instead at the village of Haran and settled there. Terah lived for 205 years and died while still at Haran.”

Did you see it? “But they stopped instead.”

That got me to thinking, how different might that whole story have looked if Terah had made it all the way? Had Terah been called as was Abraham, but he just didn’t get there? How would Abe’s life have looked if God had only had to call him in Caanan?

And then, just as my critical, judgmental mind was getting all revved up, I wondered,  how often do I stop half way?

Half way to a weight goal? Half way to a page-writing goal? Half way to obedience?

You see, the problem with humanity is that we give ourselves full credit for getting started. We rarely wait to congratulate ourselves until we finish the project. Until we hit our goal weight, finish our manuscript, or wipe out all the inappropriate language from our daily use. And so, we, like Terah, stop half way. I do, anyway.

And then we die.

When we stop half way, we get comfortable. The sheep find pasture. The water’s good. The tent stakes are into solid ground. And we make friends in Half-Way Haven. We don’t want to leave the security, the ease, the familiarity. Why strike out again? This place isn’t so bad!

So. I’m actually living in “Half Way Haven.” The Lord spoke to me about a project a year ago (on New Year’s Day, actually), and I started. But I got distracted. Book deadlines. Discouragement. I thought I understood why he’d given me this task, and I thought, “ah well, that doesn’t matter anymore.”

And I stopped half-way. (Maybe not quite that far)

And I wonder if I’m going to die in Haran rather than make it to The Land of Caanan. I don’t want to die in Half Way.

What do you think? Is Half-Way evidence of full-on disobedience? Or is it effort? What do you do when you find yourself half way? Give up? Keep going? Ask for help?

In the meantime, you’ll find me trying to complete the task. Don’t bury me in Haran!

Bette

Leave a Reply

