Toilet Paper Butt

So. Last Saturday evening, at SeaTac Airport, a woman came out of the bathroom with half a toilet seat cover attached to her behind. Truly. It flapped in the wind as she strutted across the hallway to meet her husband. Clueless, she visited with a host of folks getting off of a flight from LA. She had no idea what was hanging on back there.

I was guarding the luggage and waiting for my hubby when I spotted the error. Embarrassed for her, I walked up behind her and slipped it out of her waistband, rolling the tissue into a ball. She looked at me as if I’d lost my marbles. I held the paper  in one hand, offering it as evidence of my assistance. Apparently she didn’t get it. She strutted off down the hall as if I’d been trying to lift her wallet.

I’ve never felt more unappreciated.

Kind of like Jesus. You see, he came to earth to remove the sin that was flapping around behind us, the evil accumulation of filth that few of us even acknowledge. Like the lady in the airport, few of us even knew it was there. And when He took care of it, once for all mankind, even fewer of us are grateful.

I think it’s interesting to look at Jesus through these eyes. He was not a nice guy. He didn’t “love his way” into the lives of those he contacted. He just spoke the truth. “Look, buddy. You’ve got a toilet seat cover flapping around back there.” He didn’t do too much with lifestyle evangelism.

Think about these statements.

“And why do you, by your traditions, violate the direct commandments of God.”

“Only an evil faithless generation would ask for a sign.”

“What horrors await you, Korazin and Bethsaida. For if the miracles I did in you had been done in tyre and Sidon, tere people would have sat in deep repentance long ago. . .”

“Healthy people don’t need a doctor, sick people do.”

“Everything they (religious leaders) do is for show.”

“Not all people who sound religious are really godly.”

“Unless you turn from your sins and become as little children, you will never get into the Kingdom of Heaven. . . ”

Maybe, I should have told the lady about the stuff hanging on behind  her. Then, instead of feeling violated by my help, she would have been grateful.

How would that kind of approach affect our spiritual interaction? Do people reject Jesus’ work because they don’t see the need for it? I wonder. . .

What do you think?

Bette

2 Responses to “Toilet Paper Butt”

  1. Joyce Scott Says:

    This is one of those embarrassing (HIGHLY) embarrassing things in my life. I was the woman with toilet paper sticking out of my pantyhose, only it gets worse. A softly spoken English woman in England, told me about it. TALK ABOUT DIE RIGHT THERE!!! Please don’t pass this on! But I wanted you to know that although we may be the ones walking around with the tail on our butts….we’re not stupid. Just clueless!

  2. Susie Lynch Says:

    Bette
    I love this! She had no clue whatsoever! nor do I of how my sin hinders me…. thank you for sharing. I want to have heart of appreciation for all God has done for me, but I have such limited vision and short memory..
    I love your heart and insight which causes me to slow down and ponder!!

Leave a Reply

