Anticipation

There was a song in the old days, sung by Carly Simon, called Anticipation. It’s running through my mind now, as I think about this remarkable lesson I experienced lately.

So. I’ve been on vacation. A cruise actually, to the Western Caribbean.  We did scuba diving in Cozumel, Costa Maya and Roatan. Wonderful diving. Amazing life among the reef. But on the last day of diving, I came out of the water feeling achy. And the ache got worse and worse and turned into an upper respiratory influenza. Yup. I was WAY sick. Slept thru most of the last three days of our trip. Lost three pounds. On a cruise!

So. This week has been a real test of endurance. I can’t quite shake the flu. Exhausted all the time. Big time cough. Like I’m trying to rid myself of an appendix. I was in prayer one day this week, and I was just filled with a sense of gratitude. Don’t ask me where it came from. It wasn’t natural. I felt like pond scum. But I was thanking God for my immune system. Even though it didn’t feel like I was getting better, I could see that my body was fighting this bug. Fighting hard. And because of that, I knew was going to heal eventually.

That’s quite a miracle in itself,  that God has designed such a marvel of immune engineering.

And then it occurred to me. (Did the Holy Spirit point this out?) Our immune systems were designed BEFORE we needed them. Think about it. God made us for the Garden of Eden. No bugs there.  No death. No illness. Only eternal health.  Life. Wholeness.

And then the fall. In marches sin; the consequences come calling. Death. Illness. Pain.

But God didn’t say, “WAIT, I forgot something. Now that you’ve sinned, you’re going to need something to protect you!” No. God ANTICIPATED our physical need for protection from germs, pollution, fire,  heat, protozoans, etc (the consequences of sin) EVEN BEFORE WE NEEDED THEM. Just as he anticipated our need for protection from the Spiritual Consequences of sin.

I hadn’t thought of that before. God, knowing that my body would NEED protection, anticipated my need. He designed me with phagocytes, white cells, lymph system, lymph nodes, skin, epithelium, cilia, cough reflex, mucosal membranes. Even in the Garden of Eden. He’s that kind of God, you know. He knows our needs ahead of time. He provides for  our needs, even before we are aware of them.

My question. What do you need today, that God has already anticipated, maybe even before the foundations of the world. Can you thank him for his anticipation? For his provision?

Can you share an example with us? Your encouragement might be God’s provision in our day!

bette

2 Responses to “Anticipation”

  1. DJ YOUNG Says:

    Jesus paid the price
    Jesus came into this world to take away the sin, which is the sin that separates us from God, the original sin that Adam ushered into the world and for which the OT sacrifices were offered to make atonement for.
    “The next day John sees Jesus coming unto him, and said, Behold the Lamb of God, which takes away the sin of the world.” (Jn 1:29)
    The victory took place on Calvary when Jesus was crucified.
    Prior to Calvary Jesus did three other things that greatly benefited all future believers. He dealt with:
    1. Transgressions
    2. Iniquities
    3. Sicknesses
    “But he was wounded for our transgressions; he was bruised for our iniquities: the chastisement of our peace was upon him; and with his stripes we are healed.” (Is 53:5)
    This Jesus did when he was scourged.
    Increase in holiness
    Because of trials that we passed successfully, we are now able to serve the Lord better. As a result of God’s purging in our lives, we have an increase in holiness, which is necessary to approach the throne of God. And because of transgressions, which Jesus dealt with prior to his crucifixion, we have access to the grace, which enables us not to ignore God’s commandments.

  2. Scuba Equipment and Dive vacations Says:

    What is it like to go Scuba Diving for the first time?

Leave a Reply

